Being found with any type of drug on your possession should be taken very seriously, especially when in Pennsylvania. The state of Pennsylvania is stricter than most when it comes to drug laws, and being found in the possession of cocaine is treated much more harshly than the possession of marijuana, for instance.
The only way that you can avoid not getting caught with cocaine on your possession is to never have anything to do with it. But once you have been caught, the charge could have serious implications for the rest of your life.
What is the law on cocaine possession in Pennsylvania?
If you are caught even with the smallest amount of cocaine on your possession, you will be charged with a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor might sound like nothing to worry about; however, the charge could result in one-year jail time and a fine of up to $5,000. If you are a repeat offender, the charge can be even more severe. You could face up to three years in jail and a fine of up to $25,000.
Is there a way that I can avoid jail time by entering a drug diversion program?
There are possibilities to enter a drug diversion program rather than serving jail time for a person that shows potential. This has been proven to reduce repeat offenses; therefore, it is becoming more popular in all states.
If you have been found in the possession of cocaine, it is vital that you do not take the charge lightly. You should take action immediately so that you stand a better chance of receiving a reduced sentence.
Source: FindLaw, "Pennsylvania Cocaine Laws," accessed March 23, 2018