If you have been found to be driving under the influence of alcohol in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, it is likely that you are worried about losing your license.
It's important, therefore, that you take the time to understand how the law works when it comes to DUIs in Pennsylvania. Thanks to new legislation, it may be possible to face less severe consequences if you are either convicted of a DUI or are serving an ARD probation for DUI.
How has the law changed in Pennsylvania?
Under the new law, a driver convicted of a first offense DUI is immediately eligible to apply for an Ignition Interlock Limited License (ILLL) that would be issued 20 days after receipt of the petition by PennDot if all requirements have been met.
Drivers who are accepted into the ARD program in lieu of a conviction will be also eligible if they choose to have an ignition interlock system installed for the 30-60 day suspensions that result from some ARD cases.
Individuals who have a second DUI conviction within 10 years of the first offense will be eligible for an ILLL after serving 6 months of a 12 month suspension or 9 months of an 18 month suspension.
With regard to license suspensions that result from a refusal to provide a blood sample, an ILLL would be available after serving 6 months of the 12 month suspension.
The Ignition Interlock device must be used before the car starts, and it requires that the driver effectively performs a Breathalyzer test. Typical cost of installation is $800 to $1200.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Pennsylvania, it is important to explore your options in regard to alternative penalties. Please contact me for a free consultation.
How has the state law changed in Pennsylvania?
In late 2017, a new state law was put in place, meaning that first-time DUI offenders may not be forced to lose their license for an entire year. Instead, they may be given the opportunity to install an ignition interlock device as an alternative. An ignition interlock device is a piece of equipment that is installed into a person's car. The device must be used before the car starts, and it requires that the driver effectively performs a Breathalyzer test. If the person blows under the limit, the car will start as normal; however, if the person blows over the limit, he or she will not be able to start the car. In this way, ignition interlock devices help to increase safety on the roads and prevent people from breaking the law.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Pennsylvania, it is important to explore your options in regard to alternative penalties.
Source: Penn Live, "New law gives first-time DUI offenders an option to losing their license for a year," accessed June 14, 2018